Methodism distilled to a single sermon

In June, I started writing a series of posts walking through John Wesley’s sermon, “The Scripture Way of Salvation.”

I’ve been distracted from completing that work, but I intend and hope to pick it back up again shortly. I wrote back in June that part of my goal for diving deeply into this sermon was a search for the basis for a common language and shared theology that United Methodists might gather around in these days of division. That may be a vain hope, but re-reading what I have already written has stirred me to pick the task back up. There is a discipline in it that I believe is valuable to me, and I still hope that deep engagement with Wesley might be seen by some in our beleaguered denomination as a path toward the light.

In the meantime, if you are interested, here are links to the seven posts that have come so far.

Two simple words

Everyone is being saved

Pardon, price, and peace

Grace changes us

Expect to struggle but don’t do so alone

Going on to perfection

The meaning of faith

One thought on “Methodism distilled to a single sermon

What do you think?