Are these things evil?

He went on: “What comes out of a person is what defiles them. For it is from within, out of a person’s heart, that evil thoughts come — sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery, greed, malice, deceit, lewdness, envy, slander, arrogance and folly. All these evils come from inside and defile a person.” (Mark 7:20-23)

Here is my question today: Are these things evil or not?

I’m not interested in whether we would say these things are imprudent or potentially contrary to our own interests.

Are they, as Jesus says, evil?

7 thoughts on “Are these things evil?

  1. John, I wish you would have supplied a little backdrop to your question. Jesus speaks plainly about evil intentions gurgling forth from the human heart producing “all these evil things” that defile (NRSV). But I suspect there’s a topography, some hidden terrain, to your question. What is it?

    1. Fair request. To be honest, it is a question I wish people who don’t read or comment here would answer. I can’t escape the nagging feeling that even Jesus saying it would not be enough for some people to declare some things evil.

        1. It is to me, but I fear not to many others. And here the word “evil” is crucial. These are not merely bad things or unwise things. They are evil, an affront to God.

  2. John, your question prompts me to consider how easily I fall into apathy and sloth with regard to my inner life. Those things kill the soul. We fall out of love with repentance so easily. Christe elaison.

    Jim Lung

Comments are closed.