How do we mold leadership teams?

Patrick Lencioni defines a leadership team as a small group group of people who are collectively responsible for achieving results for their organization.

Do our churches by this definition have leadership teams? Do we have a groups that understands themselves to be collectively responsible for achieving results?

I find these questions challenging. They challenge me because I wonder if we could even define what we mean by “results” in many cases. They challenge me because I am full of doubt about my ability to pull together such a leadership team. They challenge me because I sense that as pastor, the ministry of order calls me to do what I most doubt my ability to do.

What stories can you share about creating groups of leaders in church?

5 thoughts on “How do we mold leadership teams?

  1. I’m eager to hear the responses and learn from others, since my UM church is about to begin a 6(ish) month transition to a single Leadership Board form of governance. There are nine members (10 including me, the pastor) whose applications were reviewed and selected by the SPRC and will be officially voted on tomorrow by the current council (which will be phased out by summer). We’re launching the new board next week by having a dinner gathering at my house and beginning to work through the basic steps of Lencioni’s The Advantage as applied to a church in our context. Please be praying for us!

    1. Sounds like an exciting time. I’d love to know more about your process to this point and how the new board was created.

  2. I was president of the congregation for Bethany Lutheran Church two years ago. The other officers and our pastor strove to get the council members to be leaders. The council has been and remains a status quo leadership body that pretty much is concerned about budget and the building with no concerns about the status of the faith of congregation members. I started a team, Bethany 2020, that is concerned about making changes so we are re-vitalized by 2020.

    I find much of the leadership of the congregation comes from members not part of a formal leadership group. Those who do the work, do the ministries, make most of the decisions.

  3. I think Dick is correct. Forming a team for its own sake just doesn’t work in my experience. Vision a specific initiative first, present it, and whoever becomes excited by the vision is welcome to join the team. If people are excited by an idea, it then becomes a matter of steering the ship rather than blowing as hard as you can into the sails. 🙂

Comments are closed.