Trying to decide how to apply this

Don’t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels. And the Lord’s servant must not be quarrelsome but must be kind to everyone, able to teach, not resentful. Opponents must be gently instructed, in the hope that God will grant them repentance leading them to a knowledge of the truth, and that they will come to their senses and escape from the trap of the devil, who has taken them captive to do his will. (2 Timothy 2:23-26, NIV)

 

8 thoughts on “Trying to decide how to apply this

  1. I am thinking that we need to focus on the description of the discussion- “foolish and stupid” That means to me that it isn’t an important conversation or topic. When we engage in arguments that are not worth it then it;s about ego- which to me is “of the devil”. I guess the teaching moment is that we teach by not rising to the bait of a “stupid” argument just for the sake of an argument?

  2. “foolish and stupid”
    What you think is “foolish and stupid” may not be foolish and stupid to the person asking the question. If the question is sincere it may deserve an answer.If the question is “bait” to hook for an argument that should be avoided. I get asked a lot of questions that surprise me.

    Personal attacks usually start an argument and there is a lot of that on the internet.
    For some reason people think they can write on the internet things they would never say in person. In person people usually use a little restraint.

    1. We look to ourselves first. Do I enjoy quibbling and arguing over words? Do I enjoy an argument for the sheer pleasure of the fight? We need to first see where we are in a verse or passage.

  3. I’m not certain disagreements and conversations are either foolish or stupid. I’m always careful to point the finger at any one and say “ego”. I’m also not sure if hanging soft flowers from all of our words is a good thing. Jesus certainly did not follow that rule. In the world we live in today….the denominational churches collapsing structures due to embracing the world culture and now reaping what they sowed….the truth is going to be incredibly offensive to many. And….rather than listening to the truth….most will simply turn a blind eye…..and defend to the bitter end….to the death even…..the lie.

  4. I would think a perspective other than just UMC would be a good thing. I’ve valued you, John and your blog has done far more than any other to urge me to diligently dig into the word of our God. But, I think I’ve over stayed my welcome and will look forward to seeing you in the Kingdom of God one day! Peace brother.

Comments are closed.