Christian Marriage: An Image of the Church

I’ve wondered from time to time whether our conversations would be different if we adopted the modes of disputation from earlier ages of the church.

Dr. Jeremiah Gibbs

The following is a disputation I wrote on Christian marriage. The form is like Aquinas’ Summa. If you are unfamiliar, only the “I answer” section and below are my arguments. The previous are common arguments that I am in discussion with.
The footnotes are lost in the copy and paste from my word processor. If you would like the full document, then just comment in this post with an e-mail address.


Whether it is better for a Christian not to marry
Argument 1 It would seem that it is better for a Christian not to marry. The ascetic practice of celibacy is considered not only an act of worship unto God, but also prevents the body from becoming dependant on lustful desire. Denying the body of pleasure seems to strengthen the spirit and bring one closer to God.
Argument 2 Again, the goodness of procreation that is found in the…

View original post 1,391 more words

One thought on “Christian Marriage: An Image of the Church

Comments are closed.