Watts: ‘Would disability theology cure … the church?’

Joel Watts asks, “Would disability theology cure (some of) the ills of the church?

He asks some good questions and points to some great resources for this conversation. His post puts emphasis on things that do not normally come to the top of my mind: social stigma and something called “affirming the humanity” of those with disabilities.

For me the conversation around disability is both deeply personal and fundamentally destabilizing to my understanding of theology. Even the category of “disabled” is contested in my mind. What does it mean theologically to say a person is disabled? I’m not sure this fits into a biblical conceptual system. Or perhaps it does. I’m not sure. I’m still working through it all.

I am glad Watts is bringing attention to these questions as well.

2 thoughts on “Watts: ‘Would disability theology cure … the church?’

Comments are closed.