Wood-chipper for the soul

“Why do you see the splinter in your brother’s or sister’s eye, but don’t notice the log in your own eye?” (Matthew 7:3, CEB)

A professor draws my attention to this verse today. He draws my attention to the tendency to see the sin in others and to judge others, to see their faults and not my own.

Ouch.

Today that verse stings. And it calls some of my recent blogging and a great deal of my life outside of blogging into question.

This reading the Bible stuff is fun until the sword starts to pierce your own soul.

7 thoughts on “Wood-chipper for the soul

  1. I realize that this particular blog post was likely not written to promote response or conversation. Perhaps it is really out there in order to stir an inward meditation for the individual reader’s life….and that…my hope….is what it accomplishes for each of us.

    I ask that I might just share my personal experience and where this verse lead me and how it imbedded within my heart my own self examination motive and purpose.

    For me it boiled down to responsibility. More specifically, responsibility for one’s actions. This is, of course, the teaching of Scripture.

    The splinter we point out in someone else’s eye is our scapegoat for our having a log sticking out of our own eye which, if we are to be completely honest, we want to keep. This process of “scapegoating” is constantly perpetuated with the daily confrontation we experience between our flesh and our spirit.

    We forget that we do not possess absolute freedom, immune from the necessity of giving account for our actions. We forget that sin separates us from God, or, perhaps more frequently we become comfortable and complacent in neither being hot or cold.

    Responsibility for behavior is something every individual must accept, responsibility before and to others, but, most profoundly, responsibility toward God. It is with God that man has to do. Man cannot live independently of God.

    I read your post and the first thing I thought of was Paul. I was brought into remembrance how as he grew closer to God the greater he was aware of the log jutting out of his eye. He was obviously examining himself daily which is the ONLY weapon we have to war against the “Pride of life” and self-justification.

    The encouraging part for me is that Paul must have been in the exact same place in his life at one time as you are at this time. And, like Paul, that place will actually clear the way for God to work even greater things through you for the increase of the Kingdom of Heaven.

    …..peace brother

  2. Looking and examining oneself is humbling and serves the duel purpose of correcting oneself and allowing for compassion towards others because we understand “But for the grace of God….”
    The principles of the “beam in your own eye” is not meant to strip away authority, discernment, decisions that have to be made or strip Christian leaders and followers of the right and obligation to make sound decisions IMHO.

    1. I think I am reading your reply correctly…..please remember I am the “uneducated fisherman” participating in this blog. I agree with what you are saying entirely. I think my agreement is tucked away in my last sentence above. I don’t believe at all that the principles of the “beam in your own eye” is meant to strip away authority, discernment, etc… etc… . I believe it is a principle that leads to awareness, which leads to self examination, which leads to a renewing of our minds, which assures the greatest possibility to “make sound decisions” rooted in the love of Christ and delivered in compassion and grace.

  3. Ah…even better than Fargo is A SERIOUS MAN by the Coen Brothers. Get it, use it. Every clip’s a gem. If you think we can manipulate and slither past the impartial judgment of God, think again…

Comments are closed.