Fourth of July on a cold lake

The Fourth of July finds us at the beach in Michigan. For those of you who do not know, Lake Michigan is in the northern part of the United States. The water does not get terribly warm. Today it was like swimming in ice water. And Luc would have stayed until dark if we had let him.

As I was standing in the shin-deep water watching Luc roll in the waves and dig his feet under the wet sand, a thought came to me that sneaks up every now and then. Unlike his brother and sister, Luc will likely need my help and protection as long as I am alive to provide it. And then he’ll need someone else to step in.

This is not news to me, but there are moments when it hits you. The weight of the responsibility settles on you instead of hovering overhead. Your realize that with your older kids you had set an 18-22 year ticker in your head when they born. My 23-year-old son is off in Aruba working. My soon-to-be 20-year-old daughter is plotting her senior year of college and what might come after that. Luc likely won’t do these things, not in the same way and not on his own.

I feel a bit guilty writing these words. I don’t want to foreclose his future. He has surprised me in many ways these last few years. Perhaps he has even bigger surprises in store. Perhaps not.

But this Independence Day, Luc and I splashed around in the ice-cold water of Lake Michigan. It made him happy. That is good enough for today. We have lots of tomorrows ahead.

