Esau and the prodigal

I’ve begun again my trek through the Bible — four chapters per day as a goal.

This bit from Genesis 33 caught my attention this week.

But Esau ran to meet Jacob and embraced him; he threw his arms around his neck and kissed him. And they wept. (Gen. 33:4, NIV)

When I read that, I thought instantly of the prodigal son and his father.

But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him. (Luke 15:20b, NIV)

One was written in Greek and the other in Hebrew. I can’t read either of those languages, so there may be no real parallel here. Or it may not be an intentional allusion by Luke to Genesis, but it got me thinking about Esau and the parable.

Maybe there is nothing there.

But I love these little reminders about how rich the scriptures are.

4 thoughts on “Esau and the prodigal

  1. And so the Father welcomes us when we return from our wanderings into sin…. No, you are not making too much of the connection John. You tend to read scripture like most modern folks–highly influenced by the historical, critical method. I am beginning to think that our training in this modern style of reading and scriptural interpretation has led to a crisis in the church. We pick and choose a passage we want to emphasize in our personal (or denominational) cannon, rather than embracing ALL of scripture as valuable and formative. Previous generations tended to view scripture much more holistically than we do. Previous generations saw scripture as a WHOLE with wonderful connections reinforcing the doctrine of the church (such as God’s fatherly love toward us.)

    I am reading an amazing book by Leonard Sweet entitled, “Jesus, A Theography” which seeks to show that ALL scripture points to Jesus and must be read through the lens of Christ. It turns modernism on it’s head and offers a useful, and traditional alternative hermeneutic to modern Christians. I recommend it to you.

    1. Don’t always agree with you but you hit it out of the park this time!!!! Well said Holly!!!

Comments are closed.