‘Do you know Jesus Christ?’

An exchange between a young John Wesley and Moravian August Spangenberg in 1736:

[Spangenberg] said, “My brother, I must first ask you one or two questions. Have you the witness within yourself? Does the Spirit of God bear witness with your spirit that you are a child of God?” I was surprised, and knew not what to answer. He observed it, and asked, “Do you know Jesus Christ?” I paused, and said, “I know he is the Saviour of the world.” “True,” he replied, “but do you know he has saved you?” I answered, “I hope he has died to save me.” He only added, “Do you know yourself?” I said, “I do.” But I fear they were vain words. (From Wesley journal’s but quoted from this book.)

It would be two more years before Wesley could answer such questions without halting uncertainty.

