What stirs their hearts

I was following the Twitter chat about the upcoming Lion and Lamb Festival in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Participants were asked what issues they were passionate about and what motivates them to act. Here are some of the answers:

  • I am passionate about global policy on justice issues dealing with genocide.
  • Empowerment of women & children around the world
  • unity (or lack thereof) in the church- open and honest discussions about the future of the church
  • Our broken immigration negatively impacts so many lives. Striving to work toward change!
  • I’ve been thinking a lot about how broken the economic system is, and how we can fix it.
  • I am passionate about unlocking missional imagination through music, word, visual art – for the transformation of the world.
  • global health, mission, service & honest conversations about church, personal faith/doubts, connecting with non churchgoers
  • awareness of sex trafficking around the world as well as in Indiana. Huge issue.
  • It’s gonna sound weird, but I’m passionate about doubt & the role it plays in faith.
  • children/youth justice issues, human trafficking, genocide. Hearing stories on these issues motivates
10 thoughts on “What stirs their hearts

    1. That was only one of several topics they were talking about. They were quite “festive” when discussing much of the plans.

  1. Any of those things stir your heart? Or is the point of your post that they didn’t mention Jesus and yet they call themselves Christians, etc?

    1. Morgan, why do you assume some sort of nefarious motive on my part?

      I was reporting on something interesting I was following. Here are some people (mostly younger than me, I believe) sharing what they care about. I am sharing that information. You can make of it what you will.

      I intended no judgment good or ill.

  2. Some of them stir MY heart — and would seem to stir Jesus’ heart, based on the scriptures. He seldom seemed to need to stick a label on things to make them “holy.” In fact, he often resisted separating things into “holy” and “secular.” He said that the Sabbath was made for humankind and not the other way around. Don’t think he would need to have his name plastered on issues to make them “Christian.”

    1. I’m curious, Mike. Did something I wrote make you think I was calling the Christianity of this conversation into question.

      Show me the words I used that led to that. I am not seeing it.

      Is it the pronoun “their”? I’m not sure how else I could refer to a group having a conversation that I was watching but not participating in. I did not participate because I won’t be attending the festival as my work requirements prohibit it.

      1. Hi John. I was actually responding to Morgan’s post — and thought this was the reason you had reported the event.

        1. Im assuming he was talking about my comment. I don’t think there’s anything nefarious about critique. When you do critique things, you often do so in conspicuously understated ways so I was trying to figure out if there was a hint I was supposed to be picking up. I am interested in what stirs your heart from this list and what cools your heart. For instance, I’m a bit annoyed by the fetishism of doubt in post-evangelical circles. I don’t understand what it means to “doubt” in a general sense or why it’s a positive thing to do.

  3. Morgan, sorry. I do not interpret your tone very well in print.

    I find doubt gets too much positive play as well. In some Mainline circles it seems like we honor it more than faith itself. As for the rest of the list, I find all of them to be issues worthy of concern, but I find my interests bend more toward the local and the individual. How do you shepherd this person in front of me right now to a closer encounter with the living God? How do we wait for the Holy Spirit? How do we receive it when it arrives? What does holiness look like in the lives of men, women, and children around me — and in myself.

    I do not disparage those who are fired by “issues,” but I think my introversion shortens my field of vision to the close at hand.

Comments are closed.