On not contributing to the problem

I have done it again.

The issue of homosexuality in the United Methodist Church came up this week. I got upset. I got upset because I know that this issue is going to dominate the denomination as we move toward General Conference. Again.

Then – instead of staying out of it – I started writing posts on the very issue I wish we could spend less time talking about.

So, I’m going to try again.

In all truth, nothing I have to say about the issue will break any new ground. Neither will it persuade anyone. I don’t bring a particularly interesting personal experience or perspective, either.

I’m going to try to stay away from the conversation. The hardest part for me will be ignoring statements that strike me as unfair or wrong or misleading. I have a knee jerk reaction to such things. Here’s a chance to practice some personal discipline. We’ll see how that goes.

12 thoughts on “On not contributing to the problem

Comments are closed.