Bible in a year: Genesis 25-28

I started reading the Bible four chapters per day beginning July 1. Today I am up to

Genesis 25-28

1) There are those lines you love. I love this one: “Isaac dug again the wells of water that had been dug in the days of his father Abraham; for the Philistines had stopped them up after the death of Abraham.” Now, that will preach. I’ll restrain myself from breaking into sermon mode here, but how many filled in wells are there around us that need to be dug again?

2) I missed that Jacob was an introvert. “Jacob was a quiet man, living in tents.” Sure, he was a momma’s boy, too. But I gotta like a patriarch who liked to quiet and time alone. Sure, there was that whole robbing his brother of his birthright and blessing, but he’s my new favorite Old Testament figure. At least until the next one.

3) Speaking of Jacob, I’d never noticed before how he drags God into his lies and deceptions to get his father’s blessing. Isaac asks him how he (Esau) could have gotten back from hunting so quickly. Jacob, pretending to be Esau, says, “Because the LORD your Go granted me success.” In a certain lawyerish way, I’m sure you could argue that he was not lying, but no neutral observer would agree. God uses even lying, cheating jerks like Jacob to do his work.

Quote

“Ah, the smell of my son is like the smell of a field that the LORD has blessed. May God give you the dew of heaven, and of the fatness of the earth, and plenty of grain and wine. Let peoples serve you, and nations bow down to you. Be lord over your brothers, and may your mother’s sons bow down to you. Cursed be everyone who curses you, and blessed be everyone who blesses you!”

